Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / vertical GMAW
- - By Goose (**) Date 06-28-2002 14:33
This is a real basic question, but since I'm self taught, I've wondered the correct technique to minimize/eliminate sagging or running of the bead. This is in reference to Mig, vertical seam, inside or outside corner.

Up or down?

Any tricks in the technique (or machine setup) to minimize the sag I've experienced in the bead thus far?

Most of my welding is in 1/8" to 3/8" thick mild steel.

thanks
Todd
http://www.MalibuMotorsports.cjb.net
Parent - - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 06-29-2002 02:40
i would weld on 1/8" plate downhill. 1/4" and thicker uphill. remember that gravity is your enemy in vertical positions. you need to put less filler metal into the weld bead, and it needs to be a little bit cooler. to do this, decrease the voltage about 1 volt (if you have a dial that will tell you how much of a turn 1 volt is) and turn down the wire feed speed until you get a nice steady crackling sound kinda like bacon frying in a pan. angle the gun upwards about 15 degrees for uphill or downhill. when welding uphill fillets move in a Christmas tree kinda pattern...start at one side of the joint and pause (about 1/8" from the intersection of the 2 pieces) then move up about 1/8" into the intersection to melt into the root, then move to the other side of the joint and pause. make sure each series of steps is about 1/8" above the previous step.