Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Another Gas Question
- - By Brian F. (*) Date 07-01-2002 15:04
How does welding mild carbon steel such as A36 with an Argon Oxygen mixture (97/3) compare with welding with an Argon CO2 mix (75/25) with respect to things such as mechanical properties, chemistry, deposition rates, and arc stability? Are there advantages/disadvantages to either type of mixture? I’m a co-op student, please educate me :)
Parent - - By Niekie3 (***) Date 07-02-2002 19:28
I see nobody has replied to your question. I believe it is because it would require such a long and involved answer. I will however get the string going by giving a couple of general points: (I assume you are referring to GMAW and not FCAW)

1) With more than about 20% CO2, you can not get spray transfer. The 75/25 mix is more typical of a FCAW gas mixture than GMAW gas mixture.
2) The Ar + 3%O2 gas is more typical of the gas used for welding stainless steels rather than C/Steels, although then it is more typical to use up to 2% O2.
3) Ar + 4 - 8% O2 is typically used for welding C/Steel in spray transfer mode.
4) Both CO2 and O2 helps to make a fluid weld pool, although O2 is stronger in this regard.
5) Both CO2 and O2 can lead to element loss from the weld pool.
6) O2 can lead to oxides within the weld pool.
7) CO2 can lead to C pick-up within the weld pool.

My suggestion is to use either Ar + 10-20% CO2 or one of the Ar + CO2 + O2 mixes for the general welding of C/Steel.

Regards
Niekie Jooste
Parent - By Brian F. (*) Date 07-03-2002 12:27
Thank you for your help.
Parent - By miguel P (*) Date 07-03-2002 23:28
I just want to say a couple of thing about the myths in MIG welding.