Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Different Procedures For Different Shifts?
- - By Ke1thk (**) Date 03-19-2010 12:49
I've been making a part for three years using a GTAW robot (3 million).  The part is a .750 x .028 tube with two .065 brackets welded.  The welds are small.  We decided to run them on a second shift. 

The program doesn’t run the same on each shift.  The heat increases causing unacceptable burn through on some of the parts.  We've tried; measuring the electricity at the entry point of the welder during both shifts, a separate gas tank instead of the bulk system, different tungsten diameters, new torch, outsourced electricians, and experts from the robot manufacture.  No solution.

I could adjust the program for the day shift only to hear negative feedback from the night shift.  I decided to write a separate program during the coldest (lowest electrical usage) and the hottest part of the day.  It works!

We decided to run an induction brazer at night to keep the robot crew company and sure enough, the parts are melting.

I don’t understand what is happening.  Should Weld Procedures include the time of day?

Keith
Parent - - By eekpod (****) Date 03-19-2010 13:31
Is it possible that the electrical supply to your facility is increasing during the other shifts because of the demand from other companies around your facility are drawing less power off the grid?