Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Flux-core Wire-feed versus Stick welder?
- - By DaveSisk (**) Date 07-08-2002 02:32
I'm just curious, I'm using a small flux-cored wire feed welder now, and it's pretty easy to use (although there's just too much splatter requiring considerable grinding). It's gets pretty good penetration, but leaves a bumpy looking weld as well as all the splatter.

Would a stick welder produce better results, as in a neater-looking more uniform weld and/or less splatter? Given that I've used this really easy-to-use wire feed welder (I'm no professional, these are home projects), how hard do you think it would be for me to learn the more difficult technique required to use a stick welder?

Regards,
Dave
Parent - - By Tim Buyle (**) Date 07-08-2002 14:49
Semi-automatic welding is not just pushing a button on a toarch ... this is a mis-conception of many people. It is more difficult to weld with GMAW / FCAW then stick electrode ! Weld defects (lack of fusion and incomplete penetration) are common with semi-automatic welding.
With stick electrode you'll have more control on the weld pool.
Start with rutile type electrodes E6016 for mild steel.
Parent - By DaveSisk (**) Date 07-08-2002 19:12
Hey Tim:

So, sounds like you're saying that it's more difficult to "strike an arc" with a stick welder, but once you have that mastered, it's easier to get a good weld (good meaning better penetration, neater weld, less splatter, etc?) with a stick welder. Getting an arc is easier with a wire-feed welder, but actually getting a good weld is harder. Did I interpret this correctly?

Thanks for the answers!
Dave
Parent - - By DaveSisk (**) Date 07-08-2002 19:17
Tim: