Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / API Certs
- - By Pipeliner09 Date 04-01-2010 15:13
I am in a way, new to pipelining. I worked for a pipeline construction company right after I got out of welding school back in 1994 for 2 years. I started off as a welders helper even though I had been to school for 2 years, then when a welders position came open I tested and passed beginning my career as a real welder. The tests I took to certify for them back then was a 5G downhill with 6010 on 12" and then a then a 1" coupon welded with oxy-acetlyne welding, odd I thought but that was the certification test I had to pass and luckily back then I was taught oxy-acetylene welding in school. Anyway, since then I've been a boilermaker welder certified on both tubes and plate. And for the last 6 years I've been a union pipefitter/welder with UA certs on carbon and stainless with SMAW and GTAW processes. I've dropped out of the union because of not being able to work due to car accident injuries, herniated disks in my neck and back. Because of the one to my neck the Dr. told me I may never be able to weld to the quality it takes again because the nerve running down my right arm is pinched badly. I have since changed Doctors to a nuerosurgeon instead of orthopedic and he says that with sugery I may very well be able to weld again with extensive physical rehab. If I can go back to welding I want to get back into pipelining, I have a rig. My question is, would it be worth it to get AWS certs as I am undecided about going back to the union or just goin it own my own. Are AWS certs ussually accepted by these companies like UA certs, or is it more common to have to test for every or the majority of the jobs as a prerequisit. As you may know even with the UA jobs sometimes you had to have UA certs to even take the companies gate test and some jobs would except the UA certs with no gate t