Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Asme section1V
- - By joe pirie (***) Date 04-07-2010 22:33
Hi perhaps somebody could help me here. I don't do much asme code work other than
B31.1 and B31.9  I was called in by a bus agent to help clarify a problem with a weldeing inspector on
a heating and cooling job at a local college.  Usually on these jobs we use B31.1 or B31.9. the pipe is
plain old a53 Grd B sch 40 4" to 8" operating pressure is approximately 50lbs. We have always submitted
a wps prepared under asme sect 1X for a P1 base material. The CWI on this project is asking for the welders to be
certified under asme sect 1V. I don't have a copy of this section. I thought that all  ASME testing was done under
the guidlines of asme section 1X. Can someone please help clarify this  Thank you  Joe
Parent - - By Shane Feder (****) Date 04-08-2010 00:02
Joe,
I have had no experience with ASME IV - Rules for construction of Heating Boilers but I am positive that the welding procedures and welders will be qualified to ASME IX.
Having said that the fabrication code takes precedence over ASME IX so there may be additional requirements in ASME IV.
Regards,
Shane
Parent - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 04-08-2010 01:03
Hi Joe!

I agree with Shane, and I would ask the CWI to describe as well as cite where in section IV what the additional requirements if any he's referring before proceeding further...

Like Shane also mentioned in his reply, the welding procedures and welders will be qualified to section IX.

Respectfully,
Henry
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 04-09-2010 12:38
I have a few problems with this whole scenario. And its a common one.
First of all the CWI doesn't dictate the code of qualification or construction the end user or customer does. (Someone please save us from this CWI affliction)
If the contract docs don't determine Section IV then Section IV is not involved.