Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / destructive pipe testing
- - By Fritz T Katt (**) Date 05-14-2010 00:55
What are common methods of destructive testing for pipe? A little background, I'm still a highschool student, and welding is my shop class. I've been practicing GTAW pipe (usually 4" sch 40). We have limited testing methods, visual and a large hyrdraulic press.

(4" sch 40, mild steel) Root, 2nd, and cover all got a visual "pass". Afterwords, I just pressed it down until there was approximated 1 3/8" space between the walls, and my instructor considered it a "pass". There was absolutely no visible cracks or deformation of the weld at that point. Only when pressed to make the walls 1/8" apart, did the cover pass begin to even show some small cracks.

So, would that be considered a valid testing method for this? I know that visually (sorry no digital camera for pics), all my passes passed (no pun intended), but would like to find a destructive method that can be done on our low budget.

EDIT: and what might be the criteria for a "pass" on said possible testing methods?
Parent - By DaveBoyer (*****) Date 05-14-2010 01:01
You might make a bending fixture for in the press. Hopefully someone will post pictures & bend radius dimensions as well as how to cut the specimines.
- - By Fritz T Katt (**) Date 05-14-2010 01:14
I had rough cut it with OFC to about 2 1/2" wide, because the original two pieces were not of equal length. Just wanted to make it roughly even and take some load off the press.
Parent - By UApypewelder Date 05-14-2010 17:17