Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Finally graduated college.
- - By Tnwelder (**) Date 05-18-2010 00:48
I finally graduated college with a degree in welding and metal fabrication.  I am really happy that i graduated but now am ready to go to work. I am looking at possible joining the Local union.  I will be in the apprenticeship and i hope my degree will help me get some years.  I can weld pipe pretty good but still need some experience at it. I just hope it pays off in the long run that i took the time to get this degree. And to your older welders is this what your all would of done if the opportunity would of been there for you.

Thanks
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 05-18-2010 03:43
I joined the union and worked my way through college. A couple of good friends did the same.

Just remember that the boss is the boss. When he wants your opinion he will ask for it. Otherwise, follow his direction and do the job to the best of your ability. He may be doing it backwards or you may know a better way, but he is still the boss.

Many years ago I learned from watching and listening that to tell the boss he is wrong is to commit job suicide. It doesn't do you any good when you are collecting unemployment whether you were right or wrong.

I used to keep my mouth shut, do the work I was told to do. I did it the right way without making any noise about it. The boss would say to do "X" and I did "X" with a few tweaks that I knew would make it right without ever saying a word. The bosses are not ignorant, they will catch on soon enough and then they will start asking you the questions. Don't expect any glory, life isn't that way.