Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / a question for the dads..
- - By mcavana (**) Date 08-07-2002 11:00
as i approach the end of my welding training, I realize that once i start welding for a living there will be times here and there when I am out of work for a month or two. hopefully more times than not this break will be because I can! I have a wife and two young children. The question is medical insurance. What do you guys do for medical insurance when you are laid off, or just take a well deserved break? Are there any companies that you would recomend? My youngest son has had some heart troubles. He is fine now, but does still require regular doctors visits, so I must be able to give him top notch medical care at any moment. Thank you for your help, any info you can provide on this subject would be greatly appreciated!!!

mike
Parent - - By stich585 (*) Date 08-08-2002 01:12
Hello Mike. I would like to respond to this question with what "I" think with my experience. First of all, I sarted my career working as a helper for several different construction company's. I did this for eight years eventually working up to a journeyman qualified to weld S.M.A.W., G.M.A.W. and G.T.A.W. per AWS and A.S.M.E. codes. I mostly worked shut downs doing 12 and 14 hour's 7 days a week. I was what most people refer to as a road whore. The money and experience that I gained were incredible. But the benifits sucked. Yes, I could make enough money in nine months to do nothing for three, but medical expenses was a cross that I had to carry alone. Not to mention the countless days away from my family missing everything. For the past seven years I have worked for one company. The medical, retirement and vacation benifits are good, but they would be better if I would have started my career in one place and stayed there.