Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / Applyed for Liebherr am i ready to go into the industry?
- - By leighann hanson (*) Date 06-03-2010 22:16
Hey All, I am a newbie to the welding world.Okay so heres my background, I started out 3 years ago by sodering whatever i could find. realizing i had a interest in joining  metal my boyfriend bought me a Fisher-Price my first Mig welder lol. for valentines day. I loved it. A week later one of his buddies with 5 years auto shop welding came over and he said i welded better then him. Then I realized i was good at it. So i took 2 semester at the community college. I took OAW, SMAW basic, SMAW advanced, FCAW and a welding Qulification test. TO get to the point............................................................At the start of my 2 semester i had only taken 4 flux cored classes when my instructor said why dont you work for liebherr? I said yeah he then told me he was the teacher at liebherr. i thought i would be a shoe in. so a month later i got interviewed they asked me to take the weld test so a week later i took the test and bombed so bad. I have now finished my 2 semester and have reapplyed to liebherr in hopes that i now have the training to pass the weld test.

LEIGH_ANN
Parent - - By waccobird (****) Date 06-04-2010 09:33
leighann hanson
First Welcome to the Forum
Second in over 40 years of joining metals utilizing 7 different processes I have found women to be very good welders, in a lot of cases better than even myself. The only problem is in the real world shops the men welders are still boys and won't leave the girls alone.
I have also found them to have the potential to be better than men in the other trades that men dominate, painting, machining, drafting...
Good Luck and again Welcome to the Forum
Marshall
Parent - By leighann hanson (*) Date 06-04-2010 14:42
thank you for your kind words and welcome