Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Help filling small holes in 20 Gu.-MIG
- - By Paul Date 08-09-2002 05:04
I am new at welding and restoring an old car. I have various places which have small rust holes that I would like to weld closed. I will probably also need to repair a few burn throughs since I will be welding on 20 Gu. and thinner. What are the techniques to use to fill these that will not just create a bigger hole. I am using a Millermatic 135.
Thanks, Paul
Parent - - By Goose (**) Date 08-12-2002 23:45
I do auto body restoration for a friends body shop. Can you look at the back side of the panel? Many times, pin holes are a sign that that whole area is compromised and rusted pretty thin...I've not had very good luck trying to weld rust hoels shut as they will either blow a larger hole due to the panels being thinner from rust, or the weld is real nasty as the rust on the backside pulls into the puddle creating a real mess.

Your best bet is to cut the area out and weld in a patch section...will be a longer lasting repair IMO.

BTw, the technique I find that works best on thin materials is to pulse the arc on and off with your finger. This keeps the heat low and distortion down, but keep a wet rag handy to cool the welds as you go. When welding patch panels I recommend welding about 1/2" to 1" long beads at a time, cool with wet rag and move to another area...skip around to minimize distortion.
Parent - By Mike W (**) Date 08-13-2002 01:13
If you are filling a hole that has good metal around it, I have had good luck with a small copper plate held against the back side of the hole.
Parent - By billvanderhoof (****) Date 08-13-2002 04:31
Those above me are giving good advice.

I have found that this works for rusted repairs (Thicker metal and wire but I think it will scale).

Start above the hole hopefully on a spot with better metal but close to the hole.