Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Mixed Gases Effect Tensile Strength
- - By rodney schumach Date 08-10-2002 03:21
I am a student at DMACC in Des Moines, Iowa,and would like a comment about gaining more tensile strength from running a 75/25 mix on dual shield. Will changing from co2 to a 75/25 mix increase tensile strength ? I am using 71M wire right now and think it (the wire) is ESAB.Would like input, thanks.....
Parent - By CHGuilford (****) Date 08-11-2002 22:22
We recently ran some WPQRs with Dual Shield 71 Ultra using 100% CO2 and "25% CO2/ 75% Argon(C25). Interesting to note that the C25 did in fact increase tensile strength over the CO2 using the same wire. I'm relying on memory here but I think the tensile and yield strengths increased by about 5 - 6 KSI, percentage of elongation was practically the same but on the low side of acceptable, CVN impact strength averaged lower but still acceptable. Please note that our results may differ from others because of things like heat input (ours is on the high side),product formulas, lot chemistry, and other variables.

You can also request the yearly test results from the various wire manufacturers to see what they ran for parameters and the results