Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / fit-ups
- - By Goose (**) Date 08-13-2002 14:31
I've heard of people doing fit-ups (gaps) with two different approaches. I myself prefer to keep the gaps as small as possible and everything fitting together nice and tight. I've also heard of others intentionally leaving a certain gap to fill with your weld bead.

I myself have always felt these practices also varied depending on the material thickenss...thinner materials requiring a tighter fit-up (to prevent burn through) and thicker stuff could go a tad looser.

Even so, when doing thick stuff (if you call 1/4" thick), I'd still fit it up tight and "V" groove the joint rather than make a sloppy fit-up connection.

I'm only a hobbyist at this stuff, so my opinion is based on my own self taught techniques (right or wrong). What is the general or accepted practice on such a topic? I'm specifically refering to materials from thin sheetmetal up to about 1/4" thick...mild steel speficically.

Thanks for any input and/or opinions.
Parent - By stich585 (*) Date 08-14-2002 02:14