Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / What controls penetration?
- - By oldkid (*) Date 08-15-2002 02:28
I have been welding at a joist manufacturing plant for about four years. I make the butt splice welds in the joists chord. I leave 1/2 the thickness of the material as a gap. You would think a company like this would have a welding "expert" somewhere but they dont seem to. I have shown several welds to other welders after welding just one side and not getting the amount of penetration I want. (Less than 1/2 the way through) I have been told to turn up the wire speed, turn down the wire speed, turn up the heat and some combinations of the above. I think turning up the wire speed results in "false" penetration of metal oozing into the gap. Seems to me that when i turn up the heat I get more penetration if everything else stays the same. "Speed" welding seems to be the thing in a production shop as the more we produce the more we get paid, however I have seen a bunch of guys keep turning up the wire speed thinking it makes them weld faster. I have found turning up the heat seems to allow me to advance the wire faster. Who is correct? Most welds I am talking about here are either in the flat or a 45 degree position welded downhill. I would like to hear some of your thoughts.
Thanks in advance
Parent - - By overthehill (*) Date 08-15-2002 03:35
What process are you using, solid wire, flux core with gas, or flux core without gas? What type of shielding gas? How thick is the metal? What type of welding machine? What are your Voltage and Wire Speed settings (even the approximate position of the dial, like 1 o'clock, if your not sure)? Your right, the company should have some parameters established.
Parent - By oldkid (*) Date 08-15-2002 23:08
Well I guess it would help to include all the info!