Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Lincoln 175 vs 275 vs Syncrowave 250
- - By JFouls1141 Date 08-20-2002 22:57
I have been mig welding for years. I am a general contractor and am able to use my hobby to add income to my business. I have no specific need for a TIG welder, but could find many uses if I had one. In the beginning, it will be a toy, but it could be used for much more latter. I anticipate welding stainless and aluminum. I like the price of the 175 Pro, but my experiance tells me that I should spend the extra money and step up to a little more machine. The 175 Pro has a couple of settings on the front of the machine compared to a large number of dials on the other two. I wonder what I am giving up by going with the 175 Pro. One the other hand, I have a Snap on Mig (ya240 made by century) that has spot and stitch capabilites that I have never used. My dealer felt that the 175 Pro was better than the equal Miller, but that the Lincoln 275 and the Miller Syncrowave 250 were basically equal machines. I recently purchased a Miller 250 Mig and love it. I am leaning towads the Miller if I go with the bigger machine. BTW this is a great site. What do you guys think? I hate to spend more money than I have to, but I can afford to go either way. I do not anticipate that I would be TIG welding thick material, but you never know. Thank you in advance for your input.

Jim
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 08-20-2002 23:54

Truth be told its not a "little more machine for the money" Its a lot more machine!

If you can afford the bigger machines it might be wise to go for it. Linclon and Miller both make great stuff. If you already have a relationship with the Miller dealer this may be a way for you to leverage a better deal.