Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / CWS exam - worthwhile?
- - By mbrush (*) Date 07-22-2010 18:44
Hello all,

I've been a CWI for a little over a year now. After passing, I took over the QC Department for the piping contractor I work for. It's a one-man show right now; I do all of the routine visual inspection and have "in-house" certs for MT and PT but will rarely use them. I also do all of the paperwork for "S", "U", and "R" stamps that the company holds, and just got us through our 3-yr renewal review for those stamps last week.

Things are a little slow right now, and I'm always looking for more training and certification, so I've been thinking about my future here and what I can do to beef up my credentials a bit. My boss is stuck on me becoming a "Level III", but as you know that is an ASNT designation that pertains to NDE personnel. My background is in production welding, not NDE, and this place doesn't really need to expand into NDE. I've been trying to find some sort of certification that would satisfy the boss's desire (and mine!) for me to advance to a higher level, just not in the NDE field. I've looked into a Welding Engineer degree, but there aren't any local (NE Kansas) schools that offer that curriculum. I'm now looking into the Certified Welding Supervisor seminar and exam. Does anyone have any advice for me? It looks like if I do the seminar/exam I'll be paying for it myself and losing out on a week's pay, so I want to make sure it'll be worth it. Any thoughts on becoming a CWS, or suggestions for another way to approach this?

Matt
Parent - By Joseph P. Kane (****) Date 07-22-2010 19:41