Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding Helmet? Need a new one.
- - By Platinumbased (**) Date 08-13-2010 13:22
I've been using the same welding helmet for over a decade and was wondering if I can get some suggestions on what's the best available in price and performance these days.
I prefer an auto darkening hood.  One that doesn't flicker when welding GTAW and can go up to shade 13. Also, one that can accomodate a half face respirator.  Any suggestions?  Thanks
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 08-13-2010 13:27 Edited 08-13-2010 13:57
I've been using the same ole Jackson auto shield for about 10 years...it does all of what you were askin out of a shield. The flickering is cured with a turn of a dial...or two. Sensitivity and Delay need to be set so that it doesn't flicker at the simplest change in light intensity and stays dark a split second or two longer after the arc is extinguished before it switches back to a light shade.
Parent - By weldwade (***) Date 08-13-2010 13:55
Jackson NextGen! They use standard clear lenses, you have to modify the inside lense to work. I am very happy with mine and it works well for me inside or outside.
Parent - By Cactusthewelder (*****) Date 08-13-2010 14:41
Optrell Expert
Parent - By Cumminsguy71 (*****) Date 08-13-2010 15:24