Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding rod confusion????
- - By Cumminsguy71 (*****) Date 08-20-2010 12:56
I'm just wanting to see if this is just because I only have about 3 years experience or if this is just a common type of thing. Maybe when I have 20 years under my belt this won't happen? I've been running pretty much 7018 for the last 7-8 months or better. Been using the 6010 for things such as, gate hinges, dumpster enclosures etc but nothing serious. I've been working all week on my 5g downhill for gas pipe and was having issues with things that I don't ever recall having issues with before. In my mind I know what needs to be done but seems like getting that to my "accustomed to 7018 hand" does not work right away. Have been doing a bunch of ironwork, structural lately. It's weird because transitioning from Mig or Tig to stick does not seem to have the effect like switching from 7018/6010. When I go to tig a root, seems I get better the longer I'm away from it?? Last one I did was all the way through, I had some spots that were thicker because I was adding to much filler at the top but it was 100% better than the time before. But never seemed like I was "confused" as what it seems with the 7018/6010. Does this make sense??? Maybe I'm just an idiot??