Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding helmets
- - By budman Date 08-29-2002 14:42
Hi all,

I'm a novice welder. I do some MIG and Plasma cutting on various auto projects, however I will be getting into TIG (on aluminum) within the next year.

I have to say that after trying an electronic helmet, I am hooked! My question is what type I should buy (I only want to do this once).

I see most of you like the Speedglas, but what about the Miller helmets? They seem to have the same adjustments with a slightly smaller viewing area. I plan to go down to the local welding supply and try some on, but I don't think they carry the Miller's - any suggestions?

Thanks,
Budman
Parent - By Ken Dougherty (**) Date 08-30-2002 06:27
I'm not sure I have the best answer for your question but I have some recent experience. The autodarkening was very appealing to me especially for GTAW. (I was playing with very low amp. e.g. 10A.) A salesman, probably trying to help me save money, sold me a Solex 2100. Well, that was ok for some general stick/higher amp welding but terrible for low amp/tig. It would "flash" or at times not even darken at the lower amp settings. Very distracting and or painful! A welding instructor I talked too recommended the SpeedGlass as have others. I took a different approach and tried a chin-lift helmet by Cherokee Industries, www.accustrike.com. I was a bit shy about trying another autodarkening lens, especially a pricy one. The chin-lift helmet is a bit heavy and takes some tinkering to adjust but it works fine for what I am doing at this point and a variety of lenses can be installed. Overall, I look at this like buying a computer. It is often best to consider what the use will be and what software will be used, then buy the hardware. If you find a good solution let me know. I may just start a hood collection.
Ken Dougherty