Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / ASME Codes / Contract welders welding to in house procedures?
- - By Kix (****) Date 09-09-2010 21:24
I'm still very new to ASME and want to learn as much as I can about this code. In the next coming months we are going to be slammed with work and are going to bring in some contract welders from a mechanical contractor to help us out.  We have 3 ASME turbine coil jobs and a lot of NAVY DOD work that we have to get done and we need some help.
1st.  If we send this mechanical contractor our prints and they come back and tell us they have valid welding procedures for these 3 jobs, can they come up to our place and weld on these three jobs under our roof legally?  This would of course be after we and our customer reviewed the mechanical contrators welding procedures and their welder certification to the procedures and validated them.
2nd.  If the mechanical contractor does not have valid welding procedures and or it takes to long to get their procedures bought off, can the mechanical contractor welders come in under our roof and certify to our already validated welding procedures and weld on these three jobs under our roof?
3rd. For any of you NAVSEA guys, can you do question number 2 when working to NAVSEA techpub 248 and 278?  I already know question #1 is out because this mechanical contractor has never done any NAVSEA work.

If you ASME or NAVSEA pro's could give me a yay or a nay on these 3 questions it would be greatly appreciated.  It would also be appreciated if you could point me in the right direction on where it talks about this kind of stuff in the code.

Thanks!!
Kix
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 09-11-2010 14:07
As I understand  the provisions of ASME, the contractor that has supervisory responsibility and legal liability for the work is responsible for the qualification of the welding procedures and the welders.