Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Chit-Chat & Non-Welding Discussion / Off-Topic Bar and Grill / Chevrolet 4WD vehicles
- - By jwright650 (*****) Date 09-10-2010 14:50
Who here has had issues with the t-case leaking due to a hole being rubbed through the tailshaft housing by the pump?

I just discovered a tiny pin hole in my t-case lastnight. I thought it was just casting porosity or a casting flaw, but looked online and found that this is common and the hole is caused by the pump inside wearing a hole through the housing.
Parent - - By new tito (***) Date 09-10-2010 15:52
I have an '04 GMC 1/2 ton Z71 - I replaced my t-case at about 98K miles, due to a hole being rubbed in it.  I'm no mechanic, so I can't be too technical, but here's what the mecahnic told me - this is VERY common on that style of t-case.  The design is poor and most go out around 100K miles.  It's supposedly due to poor lubrication and the chain heats up and stretches, which causes it to rub against the housing and eventually create a hole. 

I didn't catch mine soon enough.  I heard a noise that sounded like I was dragging an aluminum can down the road, waited to long to get it "professionally" looked at, and it was too late.

A rebuilt t-case was $1400, if I remember right.  cost me damn near $1900 total.  Yep, that t-case canceled my Colorado trip last year......
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 09-10-2010 16:00
This breifly explains the issue......from what I've found on the web(google "pump rub").

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afmcNkgKuMY&feature=player_embedded#at=23
Parent - - By weldwade (***) Date 09-10-2010 20:48