Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Want to get in to welding whats the best way?
- - By Travis Waite Date 09-14-2010 18:10
Hey i'm an NDT tech/Welding inspector i have been doing this for about three years i want to get in to welding because i can make a hell of alot more money welding than i can inspecting. So any words i'm an alright welder have't ever tiged or miged before so that might be a little bit of a slow point their but let me know and if anyone needs a good hard worker and is willing to teach me the trade let me know.
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 09-15-2010 04:22
Travis.

Your inspection experience would make the learning curve in welding a bit shorter I expect.

That being said... It will take Years of welding experience and fortunate circumstances for you to out earn your inspection salary.   Maybe your a hands on kind of guy and it's just the work that you love...  But I would not go too far into the move before your SURE you love welding.

Entry level welders are making between 9-14 an hour in post places these days....  If you can take that kind of paycut until you get your years of seasoning than go for it!  There are plenty of folks here that will get in your corner and help with technical questions.
Parent - By Metarinka (****) Date 09-23-2010 22:44
best place is to look towards a local community college or vocational school, most have flexible enough scheduling that you can continue to take night classes or what not while you still work. picking up at the barebones a certificate or A.A in welding will usually help you get a foot in the door.
As mentioned though beginning welders never get a ticket to big bucks without usually a few years of paying their dues or working their way up the ladder. It's definitely not a ticket to the gravy train right away.