Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / engine block welding
- - By haybine Date 09-11-2002 11:54
i am new to welding and all i have is a miller thunderbolt 235 ac machine. is it possible to weld a cast iron engine block with ac machine. if so, what type rod should i get and approx what amp setting to use? the engine block is from a old case tractor and it looks to be about 1/4" thick or so. i have to cut out some of the side of the block at the water jacket on a particular cylinder to do a repair and need to re-weld the piece back in. any help would be appreciated.
Parent - By supermechanic (**) Date 09-11-2002 17:22
Haybine , you need DCRP. See my post in hobart forum (weld talk) 'Cast to steel' in "welding processes". Ed
Parent - By dee (***) Date 09-11-2002 18:45
Haybine,
If you are new to welding you will benefit greatly from the US Army's training circular. It should have information on solving your problem, but if not, you will at least have a valuable reference.

http://www.machinist.org/army_welding

Do not interpret this as a contradiction to any specific advice; I have found there often are several solutions to any welding problem, not all of which may be equally practical.

I recall a table listing various material failures, including engine blocks, and recommendations on procedures. Frankly I cannot make any recommendation on applicable procedures.

How do you plan to cut the water jacket?

Good luck with your repair
d
Parent - By billvanderhoof (****) Date 09-12-2002 04:27
Are you trying to repair a crack in the cylinder itself? If so boring and sleeving will give a better result.

I would like to hear a more detailed description of the problem.

Bill
Parent - - By haybine Date 09-12-2002 10:53