Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / new to this forum
- - By henryintyler Date 10-02-2010 21:01
Hello, I am new to the AWS and also new to his forum.  After working in the offshore construction industry as a rigger for several years, I decided to take up welding.  After my wife graduated college and started her career, I decided to get some formal training as a welder.  I am currently attending the local junior college in pursuit of an Associate's degree in welding technology.  When i first started this endeavor, i just thought i would go to this school, graduate, and go back offshore welding pipe.  After talking with my instructors, and browsing this forum, I now realize that there are lot of avenues that one could take in this industry.  What kind of advice do some you old timers have for a guy like me.
Parent - - By Cactusthewelder (*****) Date 10-02-2010 23:58
Welcome to the Forum. Where are you going ? TJC ?
Parent - - By henryintyler Date 10-03-2010 03:55
Yes, i'm currently in the program at TJC
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 10-03-2010 04:06
Welcome.

Al
Parent - - By Cactusthewelder (*****) Date 10-03-2010 11:48
I live close to you. I am in Grand Saline. If you ever need any help, let me know

Cactus
Parent - By Tommyjoking (****) Date 10-03-2010 17:29
Welcome aboard!!

The best advice?   Learn whatever you can where ever you go.
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-08-2010 19:45
Welcome to the AWS Welding Forum.

Further education will do wonders in advancing ones options, especially in our industry and in these economic times.