Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / What welder to choose?
- - By wfs4998 (*) Date 09-12-2002 17:03
Hi,
I want to buy a welder to weld mild steel for hobby use. I have a degree in art and I like to use metal in my work. Also, I would like to do some modifications to my son's go cart. I would also like to build a 5x8 utility trailer from plans. I will be welding less than 1/4" thickness 95% of the time. I probably will use it on an infrequent basis, in other words not every day, probably not even every month. I at one time had a Lincoln 225AC stick welder which my brother hocked without my knowing. That's another story... Anyway, I had a bit of trouble welding thinner guage sheet metal and pipe with that welder, it tended to burn through a lot. I hear it is easier to weld thin stuff with mig. I think I am going to buy a mig. I actually would not mind having both, but I ran into a problem. My shop is 200' from the 200amp service panel on my house. To have 220v with sufficient wire size to run a welder out there is going to be expensive. I had an electrician do an estimate for a 100amp service panel to my shop and it was going to be just shy of $1000. He said the wire was the main expense. I also checked with the electric company and they would have to place 2 telephone poles to get 100amp service to my shop at a cost over $500 and that does not include paying an electrican to put a 100amp box in. I already have 110v in my shop which makes it more attractive to get a mig welder. I like the Miller 135, the Lincoln 135, and the Hobart Handler 135. The Miller I am told is the best, however, it is a little out of my price range. The Hobart and the Lincoln are very similar in features. I just want opinions on which machine to buy. Any advice is appreciated! If you like one better than the other, explain why... Thanks
Parent - - By Goose (**) Date 09-12-2002 18:35