Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / GMAW Polarity
- - By aevald (*****) Date 10-07-2010 20:16
Hello folks, as a welding instructor I sometimes find myself acting as a welding detective. The other day a student brought in some welds to have them critiqued. This particular student had started the program quite some time ago and then had taken a job part way through, worked for a year or so and then realized that returning and finishing might be a good choice for him. When he set-up in the booth that morning he noticed that the feeder power cable had been unplugged from the power source, he didn't notice the polarity. The day before another individual had done some welding with an LN-25 using NR 232 wire, straight polarity. The student on this day was running .035 ER70 S-6 with 75/25 shielding gas attempting to run some downhill beads with an S22A feeder, he didn't recognize the incorrect polarity, but noticed that he had an extreme amount of LOF at the toes of his beads. When he came to show me the beads he pointed out the LOF and asked what he was doing wrong. I first inquired about his machine parameters, they didn't sound extremely out of range. At that point we made a trip to his booth and I stepped in and ran a bead for myself, WOW, that was some different stuff that I really hadn't encountered before. The detective work kicked in at that point, the machine was an XMT 304 CC/CV, 75/25 argon/CO2 shielding gas, .035 solid wire. Everything pretty much checked out. Looked at parameters, that's when I noticed the ground connection and the feeder connection, he hadn't altered the ground from it's use the previous day, thus he was operating on straight polarity. I have included some pictures that show how there was almost NO penetration whatsoever, in fact, you can see the chalk line underneath the weld metal where he was using it for a guide to help with bead straightne