Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / job offer
- - By weaver (***) Date 10-09-2010 16:49
hey fellas,  So I have been offered a job. Heading up his welding division, and doing all the field work. 65 an hr plus full bennys. I have been working for my self for seven years now and love the freedom, but I provide my own benefits and everything else. My friend is offering to take care of everything. I hate managing other welders ( lets face it, welders are winers) . So I know the offer is perfect but i love my freedom and my company is holding it's own. ideas?
Parent - By Pickupman (***) Date 10-09-2010 18:43
If you don't try it you'll never know. You can always go back to what you're doing now. Pro's and con's either way.
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-10-2010 00:20
Pretty good opportunity to pass up without trying it out for size.  BUT...

Number one caution to me:  working for "FRIENDS" does not always work out.  Seldom actually.  He is the 'BOSS' and you need to be sure you can live and work with that.

Freedom is a definite consideration, especially if you are doing well in your current condition. 

You say you "hate managing other welders" ?  If this is a strong preference or caution in your own mind before even going into it...???  You may start regretting the decision real soon.

Does this qualify for 'three strikes... YOU'RE OUT' ???

Good Luck.

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By weaver (***) Date 10-10-2010 02:56
he is a friend, we have done alot of work in the past, he can be a "hard customer" , but I am not worried about that. I just love my freedom.. well I still have a few days to figure it out.
Parent - By TRC (***) Date 10-10-2010 14:30