Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / 1/2" sch10 6061 6-G pipe test
- - By TK Date 11-01-2010 23:52
I am tryng to qualify a proceedure for welding 1/2" aluminum sch10 pipe. This will need to be a closed butt 6G test. My problem is inconsistant penetration and excess penetration. I am using a Miller 350 Synchrowave with argon shielding gas and no purge on the inside. The prep on each piece is a land of .060" thick by .093" long with a 30 degree angle, 60 degree included. Even when I get a good weld, I cannot repeat with any degree of certainty. Does anyone have any experience with small diameter aluminum pipe ?
Parent - - By Blaster (***) Date 11-02-2010 01:22 Edited 11-02-2010 01:42
Wow, that sounds pretty challenging.

I am not experienced with aluminum pipe butt joints, though I have welded a fair bit of aluminum. 

I have a former pipe fitter friend who was telling me that J edge preps were the hot ticket on aluminum pipe.  Don't know what size range he was refering to though.

For more consistant results, my first instinct would be to get a purge in there.
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 11-02-2010 01:49