Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Welder Classification Levels
- - By welderla (*) Date 11-11-2010 00:35
I am starting a new fab shop and i have a lot of experienced welders and unexperienced welders, new, old and all of them have passed the qualification tests to get into the shop.  However even if you pass a 3G, 4G, or 6GR, some of them still have a difficult time welding a simple horizontal tee-joint.  Is there a standard classification system of how i can group these welders into three separate groups; best, ok, worst?  Is there a definiation of what these groups would be like NDE certs, you have a level I, II, and III and those are based on experience and so on....  Can anyone help me?
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 11-11-2010 04:05
AWS has a program for testing welders.  It has three levels: QC10, Specification for Qualification and Registration of Level I- Entry Welders; QC11, Specification for Qualification and Certification for Level II- Advanced Welders; and QC12, Specification for Qualification and Certification for Level III- Expert Welders.

It has it's pro's and con's.  Not a bad program and at least gives you a knowledge and skills base to establish different levels and pay grades. 

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By swnorris (****) Date 11-11-2010 17:30
Our welder level requirements are defined in Class A, Class B, and Class C Welder job descriptions, with pay ranges corresponding accordingly.
Parent - - By Blaster (***) Date 11-11-2010 20:05 Edited 11-11-2010 20:10
I think that is a great idea.  "Hope" is the key to peace and happiness in society and in the workplace.  If a welder knows he can move up and earn more by putting out the effort to accomplish certain things, even if he chooses not to do so, I think it goes a long ways towards keeping an air of fairness and respect within the company among the employees.