Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / HELLO AND 7018 AC
- - By FIXXXXAH (*) Date 09-24-2002 04:53
HEY GUYS, LET ME FIRST INTRODUCE MYSELF. I'M AN 18 YEAR OLD WELDER FROM SANTA FE NM. I GRADUATED LAST YEAR, AND HAVE BEEN WELDING ABOUT 5 YEARS. IM NOT SURE IF ANY OF YOU ARE FAMILIAR WITH THE SKILLS USA/VICA COMPETITIONS, BUT THEY ARE A SERIES OF TRADES COMETITIONS. I PLACED 2ND AT NATIONALS THIS SUMMER, AND HAVE BEEN INVITED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE PRELIMINAREIS TO EARN A CHANCE TO COMPETE AT THE US WELD OPENS AT THE AWS SHOW IN DETROIT. THE FIRST TEST IN PRELIMINARIES ARE SETS OF TEST PLATES, WITH MIG, TIG, INNERSHIELD, AND STICK.

HERIEIGN LIES MY PROBLEM. THE STICK PLATES ARE 7018 AC 3/32 ROD VERT. UP AND OVERHEAD, 60 DEGREE V GROOVE 1/8" ROOT FACE 3/16 ROOT GAP. I'VE BEEN TRYING TO RUN THE VERT UP FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS NOW AND I CAN NOT GET RID OF THE POROSITY. I'M GETTING A FEW PINHOLES ON EACH PASS. I'VE RUN THEM HOT, RUN THEM COLD, NOTHING IS WORKING. IM RUNNING ABOUT 70 AMPS ON THE LOW END AND 95 ON THE HIGH.

WHAT AM I DOING WRONG?
THANKS AHEAD, AND SORRY BUT MY CAPS ARE BROKEN.

MATT
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 09-24-2002 05:46

Matt,

Back to basics I say. Return to 2G (horizontal) position and pay special attention to surface prep, arc length and rod angle. Review your textbook on each. Are you taking care to handle your electrodes properly (dry)? Section and check your 2G work. If the porosity persists than maybe you could try a different batch of electrodes.

Vica is great! Rewards for excellence and merit rather than some feel good everybody wins crapola.

Keep us posted on your progress

Lawrence
Parent - By FIXXXXAH (*) Date 09-24-2002 14:37
HEY LAWRENCE-