Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / TIG bend test
- - By sjsevier (*) Date 11-19-2010 05:27
Does anybody know what weld defect specs there is on a plate bend test.  Specificlly improper fusion on the root pass.
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 11-19-2010 05:39
Hello sjsevier,  first off, as is customary on here, welcome. To your questions: if you can provide the code or section of the code that applies and the specifics of the test it will allow folks to give you better answers/information to address your questions. Best regards, Allan
Parent - - By sjsevier (*) Date 11-20-2010 16:47
Hey aevald thanks for the welcome, and Im glad to be a member.  Im a beginner welder with a little over 2 years experience, so Im new to the codes and thier numbers, so I will explain it the best I can, here we go.  3/8" plate,  75 degree bevel,  3/32" gap with knife edge,  TIG root and the rest of the way out with TIG.  So after I put my cap on I ground it out and then cut my cupons and did a bend test, and the rest is history,  so I was wondering if I sould protest this one or let it go.  I know it got to be close to the specs for that test.  Its also a pass fail situation, oh by the way Im in a pre-pipe welding class and these test determine whether I get into the advanced pipe class, so he failed that one and now Monday I have to do it all over again, or protest it.  Thanks for any help.  I love to weld more that anything and It soon will be my lifes career, and I will be a full member of the AWS.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 11-20-2010 20:17
Knowing the visual and destructive inspection evaluation criteria up front is pretty important.. There is nothing wrong with asking this up-front as well.. Much better than after something is rejected.