Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Gas lens
- - By sjsevier (*) Date 11-22-2010 12:59
Does anybody have any feedback on a gas lens for TIG.  I just recently got one for my torch and Im not used to the bigger cup look, I know that shouldnt matter but Im very new to TIG and every little thing that changes my technique just seems so much harder to make a good bead.  By the way I only walk the cup.  This was the first, and only thing I have been taught.  Im in a pre-pipe welding class and I guess thats the reason why.  But back to the topic Gas Lens Pro or Con?
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 11-22-2010 14:25
Um.. interesting way you put the question.

Don't know why a gas lens would be useful in cup walking applications.  The whole purpose of a gas lens is to produce a larger gas covered circle around the weld to help keep shield gas on the trailing edge of the puddle and to accomodate a slightly longer stickout for the tungsten electrode in some cases.

Neither of those issues are likely to come up in a cup walking pipe joint. 

For freehand work on stainless and super alloys they can be a big help.. Especially when the color of the oxide on the crown of the weld is an issue.

Since the gas lens must have a different shape than the cups you have been using up until now.. Of course they are going to walk differently, maybe not too good, depending on the shape of the gas lens cup.

Since your beginning..  You may not want to try a whole lot of different things until you have the first things mastered..  Unless your instructors are asking you to use gas lenses I would stick to regular cups and collets.  If they are the ones pushing for gas lenses.. They must have explained why they wanted them right?
Parent - - By sjsevier (*) Date 11-24-2010 03:35