Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / E-7018 Downhand?
- - By All-Around Weld Date 07-01-2000 05:46
I was working as a CWI for an Eng. Lab. One project I worked on, I was responsible for my company loosing the contract because I stood my ground and questioned the co. that was doing the welding. It was on the interior of Folsom Dam on 3" mild steel, I was to inspect a root pass with dye-pen before welding could continue. I was accompanied by the co. Q & C, the welder, Gov. Engineers, all wanting the go ahead to continue. After cleaning, preping and looking over the welds, I could not ID what kind of weld it was, with 25 yrs as a welder, I was baffled.
I was not given a WPS. I found cracking in the throat in many areas
and knowing this not what they wanted to hear, I asked the QC if I could review the WPS or any specs so I could see what and how this was welded with. I was told that it was 7018 cranked up and run downhand. I questioned it and said I have never heard or believed
that any Low-hy rod was designed to go down as I pointed out the defective areas. Needless to say, I or my co. was not asked back. I had the support of my co. and the respect of my boss. But I still wonder, can 7018 be used downhand?
Parent - By - Date 07-01-2000 16:25
All-Around Weld,
Yes, it's been my experience that E7018 can and is successfully used downhill around the country. I only have personaly approved the procedure and monitored it's application on field-erected storage tanks. This also holds true for the same application using E308L-15 & E316L-15 (lime coated).
Hot & fast= thin with a specific technique to roll the molten slag off so as not to allow impingement on the puddle or joint.
Parent - By RonG (****) Date 07-02-2000 04:03
Was there a PQR???
Whats a WPS if there is no PQR to validate it.
Was the man (welder)Qualified to weld in that WPS, Position, Filler and progression?