Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Can it be done?I'm a novice!
- - By fosters3 Date 10-02-2002 00:28
Hello,
I am a very inexperienced welder. The only welding I've done is with 1/8" rod DC(+). I am pretty good with that
but that is as far as I go.
Here's my situation:
I'm welding a nose onto a car (thin German steel) and want to know if it can be done with the tools I have.
Welder: Miller Thunderbolt XL 300/200 Amp cc.ac/dc welding power source.
output: ac/dc
volts: 30/25
amps: 300/200
duty cycle: 20%
max ocv: 80
It has 4 settings: AC 180-300A AC 40-200A
DC (+)
DC (-) The rods I have are: 3/32 7014 Sureweld sw-15 IP Heat#w-54101
3/32 7018 AtomArc Heat#112574
1/8 I use this on heavy steel.
I did some practice welding on a fender w/ the7014 with the setting at about 45 on the dc + scale which seemed to work although no to pretty. Obviously I either burn through or it doesn't seem to want to weld at all. "45" worked best for
that rod. I've been told I should "tig' or "mig weld it but I know nothing about that nor do I have access to those
types of welders. I was also told I might not be able to weld a "path" but instead may have to spot weld with the
tools I have. Question: Is there another (perhaps smaller) rod I can get to use with this welder along with maybe another
setting such as an AC setting?
I know I must sound pretty ignorant to all you experienced welders, but at least I'm honest to admit my downfalls.
Mechanically, I can fix just about anything (diesels,hydraulics,etc.), I just lack any real welding experience.
I really want to complete this job with this welder I have access to. If it's possible can you direct me exactly what to do
along with the correct rod to go along with this welder for this application?
Also could you please tell me the right way to do this with the right tools? Maybe I can borrow or rent the right