Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / B31.3 code book help
- - By fit2inspect (**) Date 01-05-2011 03:27
I’m studying for the ASME B31.3 code book exam for this March through AWS. I’m searching for either a study guide or some practice questions or even a class I could take before the test date March 12th in Houston, Texas. I took the ASME seminar last October it seemed to be set for engineers, which I’m not. Any suggestions where else I could look?
Parent - - By jon20013 (*****) Date 01-05-2011 11:44
Probably as good as any: http://www.addebook.com/tech/architecture/casti-guide-to-asme-b313-process-piping_1489.html if youi do an online googe search I believe you ould find one for free, in fact I'm downloading it as I write but its big so dont ask me to email it! :-)
Parent - - By fit2inspect (**) Date 01-05-2011 22:20
Thanks for the advise Jon20013: I looked at several sites that claim to give you the B31.3 study guide on a free download. You get started then they ask for your credit card. No way No how! Did you get any luck, if so could you e-mail me the site? I’m just getting started and finding I’m on a inspectors expense  and still have a welders pocket.
Parent - - By jon20013 (*****) Date 01-06-2011 02:31 Edited 01-06-2011 02:33
The free download I got is LANL Engineering Standards Manual PD342 try copyiing that and pasting into a Google browser to see if you get it.  The download I got was free and it is VERY comprehensive!

Fit2inspect, if you hit any snags, click on my profile and send me an e-mail.  I have a fairly decent knowledge of B31.3. :)
Parent - By Shane Feder (****) Date 01-06-2011 04:22
Fit2inspect,
I am the same as Jon, spend a lot of time working with B31.3 and will try to help if you hit any snags,
Regards,
Shane
Parent - - By mbrush (*) Date 01-05-2011 16:47
fit2inspect,