Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Nuclear Stainless Grinding
- - By JustinT (*) Date 02-04-2011 13:49
Good Morning Everyone!

I currently work as a QA Engineer and Welding Engineer building parts, mostly 300 series stainless steel, for the nuclear power industry. Many customer contracts restrict grinding media to aluminum oxide or silicon carbide or sometimes just aluminum oxide. Our shop’s preference is to use zirconia alumina grinding media as it has a better life and more aggressive metal removal rate. I’ve done a lot of research into the matter and cannot find a basis for the restriction. At most I can find a linkage from ASTM A-380 (industrial standard for cleaning) to the ASM Handbook, Volume 5, Surface Engineering, that recommends the use of aluminum oxide or silicon carbide for stainless steels, but does not restrict anything else.

Does anyone know why this exists?
Parent - - By OBEWAN (***) Date 02-04-2011 14:22
What about carbon contamination?  In the oil industry codes that is why we have the same restriction.  Any carbon pickup at all could cause loss of corrosion protection.
Parent - By JustinT (*) Date 02-04-2011 14:23
I don't think that's it because they always further go on to say to use stainless steel wire brushes and not to use items previously used on carbon steels.
Parent - By rlitman (***) Date 02-04-2011 15:18
There was another thread that brought this up:
http://www.aws.org/cgi-bin/mwf/topic_show.pl?pid=201425

The carbide left behind by silicon carbide can activate the stainless.

I've got no idea why zirconia is not accepted.
Parent - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 02-04-2011 19:20
Silicon carbide is not the best material to grind austenitic stainless steels because it contaminates the material with carbon, giving way to intergranular corrosion.