Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / pipeliners supply their own welding machine?
1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next  
- - By chitown hustler (*) Date 02-07-2011 19:45
excuse me for the dumb question but im only a union carpenter from chicago. what job does a welders helper perform and what kind of pay does he get? also welders have to supply their own machine? how is a welder compensated for using his own machine versus a company machine?

thanks in advance,

dave
Parent - By Blaster (***) Date 02-07-2011 20:44
I know when some of the ~8' diameter SoCal "aquaducs" were going in back in the 80's and 90's that some contractors were paying owner/operators a flat rate by the joint.
Parent - - By dbigkahunna (****) Date 02-08-2011 18:52
Are you wanting to hire out as a helper or a welder?
A rig weld helper does the grinding, weld buffing, machine changing, coffee making and what ever else the welder does not want to do. The helper is responsible for making sure all the tools and equipment are picked up and on the truck at the end of the day or at the completion of the weld. Sometimes they get to move the rig.
A rig welder or the contractor they are working for provides the helper tools. Including all PPE.
On turnaround projects a helper pretty much buffs and grinds welds and hustles electrodes. Spools up cords and leads.
On rig welding jobs the welder is compensated for the use of the machine. The machine is usually paid straight time where the welder, the arm, is paid time and half over forty hours.
Compensation varies between contractors so there is no set price a welder can get for the machine. On union jobs the price paid for the machine is covered in the bargaining agreement.
On a single hand job the contractor supplies the machine and all the consumables.