Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / ASME Codes / Need some help ASME IX
- - By Kix (****) Date 02-10-2011 14:22
Again, I'm a newb to ASME and we are building some units that are to be in accordance with ASME sec IX.  The contractor that welded the units didn't do so hot and there are some flaws in the welds.  In order to inspect them properly I need some VT acceptance criteria.  Well, I'm not doing so hot in finding any acceptance criteria for VT examination in Sec IX.  What I did find (QW302.4) is very vague and I know it's criteria for procedure and performance qualification. That leads me to (QW 194) which is about as vague as it gets.  Is there any standard criteria like porosity per inch, porosity size, acceptable undercut, overlap etc etc for inspecting not only procedure and performance coupons, but production weldments?  Can anyone point me in the right direction please?

Thanks!
Kix
Parent - - By Joey (***) Date 02-10-2011 14:57
You are referring to sec IX which is for Welding and Brazing Qualifications.
You should ask your engineer or check your design specification to find out the construction code to follow.
When you are doing pressure vessel ; ASME code: refers to the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code including its addenda and code cases.
Parent - - By Kix (****) Date 02-10-2011 16:40
So what are your construction codes? Are they like ASME SEC I , II, III, IV, VI, VIII, X  and so on?  I always see ASME B31.1 or something being referenced, is that another construction code?  This unit has a pressure vessel on it and piping spools that go into and out of the vessel.  So would the pressure vessel be inspected to SEC VIII and the piping be inspected to something like B31.1?  Thanks for your help man!

Kix
Parent - By Joey (***) Date 02-11-2011 06:31