Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Bending square tubing
- - By purplewg Date 10-22-2002 19:14
Anyone have an ingenious way to bend square tubing? I am thinking, make a pattern out of wood, capture the tubing, heat and bend around the cut out pattern. This is a home project and I am no expert in the field. I need to bend several pieces and have them all end up the same length also. Basically two 90 deg bends on both ends. The bend can be a 6" radius. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Parent - By Goose (**) Date 10-23-2002 01:58
I've never tried it, but it's fairly common in the auto racing industry. I've seen rear frame rails made of 2" x 3" rect tube bent to different shapes. The manufacturers use what is called a mandrel bender which has a die that runs inside the tube to keep it from collapsing during the bend (they bend it cold).

I think it would be difficult to bend at home even with a bend jig and heated up as the inside would try to wrinkle, or the outside/side walls would likely want to collapse.

The only way to know for sure is to go out to your shop and try it. I've bent some other things in the past using a bending jig/fixture I made form scrap and found one secret is to put slow but constant tension as your making the bend...too quick a movement and you'll surely collapse the walls.

BTW, what size tube? what wall thickness? what material?

EDIT: One thing I thought of...I've hand bent 1/2" diameter aluminum tubing by packing the inside full of sand...this was cold bent.

I guess you could try and pack your tubing full of sand before bending in an attempt to keep if from collapsing...worth a shot.
Parent - By Ken Dougherty (**) Date 10-23-2002 05:29
There are benders that will do what you want, e.g. Hossfeld Universal Bender but the expense would be prohibitive. But, if a local metal shop had one, it might be worth paying them to do it.