Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Public Speaking
- - By d_paul71 (**) Date 04-11-2011 12:26 Edited 04-11-2011 12:29
Friday is the day that I have to give a speech on welding.  Five to 15 minutes.  I have knots in my belly as I type this.  Any advice???
Parent - - By Superflux (****) Date 04-11-2011 12:31
Whose your audience?
The three rules to writing a speech are...
1) Tell 'em what you're going to tell 'em.
2) Tell them.
3) Tell them what you just told them.
Parent - By texwelder (***) Date 04-11-2011 16:10
Thats awesome advice
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 04-11-2011 13:59
Paul,

Since your a CWI... You obviously are a fellow at the top of your profession.  Rest in that knowledge.

1.   Don't be afraid to work from notes.  I've been lecturing for 15 years and I still use notes to keep me on track. If your using PowerPoint; Simple one or two lines per slide, big text.. and a picture.

2.  Acronyms...  Note each you will use and explain them. Even an audience of welders may not know them.

3.  It's ok to pause and collect your ideas... WITHOUT  um's...

4.  Don't try to cram too much into your presentation.

5.  If a question comes up that you don't have a quick answer for...  Stop and make a note in your pad or on the drawing board... Promise to get the answer..  It reflects integrity, humility and shows you respect your audience.

6.  If working via Chalk board or PowerPoint.. Face your audience when you speak.. When your writing or pointing a thing out on the board, Just wait till your finished to speak.  If your going to err... Be louder rather than quieter.

Good Luck.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 04-11-2011 14:09
Good post Lawrence.
Parent - - By CWI555 (*****) Date 04-11-2011 14:16