Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Houston Fab Shops
- - By noremac (*) Date 04-14-2011 08:36
Hey yal, im new to the Houston area and im trying to get some knowledge on the local fab/welding shops. Can anyone name some bigger companies that I should be forwding a resume to? and what can I expect to be making hrly down here in a shop? Also how is the general work outlook, is there plenty happening? Thanks
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 04-14-2011 11:36
Houston is tough as far as fab shops are concerned. There are plenty of them but unless you have some exotic alloy experience, or special skills they will generally be fairly low wage high productivity shops. Think of your demographic.
Many of what I would call the carbon steel shops pay 10/12 $ an hour. The  welders are generally one process guys either FCAW or GMAW and blow and go all day long. There are exceptions but even in the biggest welding market in the country it can be hard to find.
Parent - - By junkiron (**) Date 04-15-2011 02:58
damn thats low, last time i made 10 Hr was in 97 as a welders helper
Parent - - By noremac (*) Date 04-15-2011 04:49
Thats a little disapointing to hear..what are people doing to earn decent money then.? I know people are making good money down here welding, whats the best avenue to go?
Parent - By Cactusthewelder (*****) Date 04-15-2011 04:58
Fab Shops in Houston will require you to speak Fluent Spanish and you need a Work Visa. They also expect you to disappear every few months to head "South of the Border"
Parent - By Superflux (****) Date 04-15-2011 05:08