Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / ASTM 36 Beam fabrication
- - By catman Date 10-31-2002 02:15
We are a small mfg. and are contemplating producing our our own "I" beams for use in UL tank containment.
Has anyone had expierience in this application?
Beam sizes run from 18" - 24"
with lengths running up to 504"
I am the welding supervisor and have had alot of expierience in the structural field, but this is a little out of my league!!
I have read the Lincoln recomendations on fixturing and I have some background in the fixturing field.
We have the ability to run only 1 Pass at one time and do have a bug-go to run the process ( e71-T1/co2 sheild)
My biggest question would be:
1. What angle would the flange to web be set at to correct for the distortion of single pass per side at one time?

2. Do the laws of coefficient of thermal expansion apply here??

3. Is there an easy way ( or a program ) that could calculate weld amperage input to feet per weld that would give me a deflection ratio, given the thickness of material??

I used to work at a MFG'r that had a hot man for this in engineering but he is lost to me now...
I need some help and the dead line is drawing near and I need some answers to this problem.

As usual opur engineers came up with this idea and then told about it.
HELP!!!!

catman
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 10-31-2002 14:01
Catman,