Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Tig welding info and ?????
- - By Big Al Date 11-05-2002 01:42
Hello,I'm new to tig welding,well basically I can do a little stick and a little mig welding,and thats about it.I bought a Lincoln 175 pro about a month ago and have been trying to learn to use it.The reason I bought it is that my son BMX races and we have decided to try our hand at building bike frames.The tubing we will be usig to start will be a chrome moly,the thickness will vary from .022-.049-.125for differant areas of the frame.My questions are what should I set the welder on to weld this,what shape and size tungsen to use,how do Imake the welds look good,what distance should the tungsen be out of cup,and from the weld material,do I melt a puddle on the material or how do I go about this with butt joints?......I theses are a lot of dumb questions but I want to learn alittle now as it will be early next year before I can take any training courses......Thanks in advance......Al
Parent - - By Goose (**) Date 11-05-2002 02:44
The general rule of thumb is 1 amp of welding amperage per each .001' of material thickness. This would be approx. 120 amps for a piece of steel .120" thick. Different joint configurations will require you to tweak this setting which can be done on the machine or the foot pedal.

I would highly suggest building a few frames out of mild steel to get practice before doing chromoly. The reason is that you want to have a minimum of heat input to keep from having a cracking problem on the chromoly tube in the heat affected zone (HAZ for short).