Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Bonding Aluminum to itself
- - By weldwade (***) Date 06-09-2011 18:32
I have an application that I have no experience with. I need to bond Al to itself. One side is anodized and the other is not and at this point I do not know what alloy the Al is. I won’t be able to weld the brackets to the back side which is not anodized because it will mess up the anodized finish on the other side. This job is for a friend of mine and will be used to display a machined part in his office that his company makes. I have used epoxy for other things but am wondering if there is a common epoxy that is used for this type of work? The machined part weighs a little over 600# and will be displayed on an angle so I want to find something strong enough to support the weight and people moving the part around on the display. If I can’t find anything he will drill and chamfer and bolt the feet, aesthetically he is after bonding the feet to the plate.

Thanks for your help.

Wade
Parent - - By rlitman (***) Date 06-09-2011 19:17
That's a tough one to answer.  What's the surface area and shape where the parts are in contact?  That can make a huge difference in whether or not this can work.
Parent - By weldwade (***) Date 06-09-2011 21:31
He just sent me an email with some dimensions. The top is 14" square 1/2" t-6 and the legs will be 1"x3" t-6 rect stock. The stand will sit 2' off the floor. These are left over "drop" or "oops" parts they have on hand that have already been anodized.
Parent - - By Joseph P. Kane (****) Date 06-09-2011 19:44
I have seen some large, heavy signs and logos held to a frame with 3-M double sided HMB Tape.  (High Molecular Bond) However, I do mot know the compactness and configuration of your application.  This tape would not ruin the original part.
Parent - - By rlitman (***) Date 06-10-2011 14:49
You mean this?