Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / Newly aquired CWI certification
- - By ironhead42 Date 06-22-2011 18:18
Hello everybody,

I am looking for some insight trying to breaking into the industry as a "green" CWI. I recetly passed the CWI exam under D1.1 and I have over 6 years experience under the hood. 3 years in a fabrication shop and little over 3 years as an Ironworker, so it's not like I don't have experience in the trade. Everwhere I apply wants someone with 3-5 years experience as a CWI. How do I get experience if no one is willing to give me a chance? I'm willing to do whatever it takes, just need to get my foot in the door. Any advise and/or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thank you for your time,
Anthony
Parent - By qcrobert (***) Date 06-22-2011 18:48
Anthony, I see you are from the western slope of CO.  I worked in Parachute, lived in Rifle, while working (Daniels International) on the Union Oil shale oil retort project back in early 80's and broke out from pipe welding to inspection field at that time.

Not many big towns on your side of the slope so the only advice I can give you is to seek inspection work for a large company in a larger city.
Parent - By Superflux (****) Date 06-23-2011 05:19
Congratulations on your CWI cert. Yep, now comes the hard part, getting a job/experience. You might have to back down on the pay scale and look into shops (like the one you were/are in) or being a NDE Tech for someone like Acuren.