Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / Preheating prior to tack welding
- - By Jrabbass Date 07-09-2011 15:16
Little info on myself and my situation. I'm a QC inspector for a large structural shop. Currently some of the jobs running through our shop have some pretty large members with 4" baseplates. It's my understanding that preheat is required for any welding over 1 1/2" including tack welds(unless remelted by SAW, we're using FCAW). I'm catching alot of grief from production personnel for requiring preheat prior to tacking(understandably). I'm the first inspector thats required it be done. All of the inspectors in the past have let this slide, main reason I'm catching so much crap for it..."I've been doing this longer than you've been alive and never had to do that!!!"(I'm 24, another problem I have to deal with) How do you guys handle this? do you require it? let it slide? I'm struggling quite a bit even justifying it to myself just because of the safety hazards it creates. Hanging a 4" baseplate thats 225 degrees isn't fun. But at the same time neither is underbead cracking....... Appreciate any help you guys can give.

Thanks
Parent - - By waccobird (****) Date 07-09-2011 19:02
Jrabbass

First Welcome to the American Welding Society Online Forum.

Your QC Manager would be the one to talk to.
A large structural shop should have procedures giving direction for how it does things so as to consistently deliver a Quality Product no matter the knowledge of the personnel attempting the task.
AWS D1.1  says All welders, welding operators, and tack welders shall be informed in the proper use of the WPS and the applicable WPS be followed during the performance of the welding.
Again Welcome to the American Welding Society Online Forum.
Good Luck
Marshall
Parent - By alan domagala (**) Date 07-09-2011 20:22 Edited 07-09-2011 20:25