Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / New welder and have some questions
- - By Dirk O Date 11-18-2002 04:41
I am a new welder and I am a senior at a vocational school for welding and fabricating.
My first question , one in which not many people can answer.
How come metal contracts more than it expands? I undersand that everything except water expands when heated , but I would think the molecules would return to their original size after being heated. I know that metal warps from the weld because the heated metal can reach the yeild point easier than cold metal. So please explain this to me.
Also, what is the proper process for welding on automotive frames? Is there anything special i need to know , thats needs to be done before or after welding? I am guessing most frames are made of mild steel and do not need to be preheated to be able to weld on them.
Thanks
Dirk Olwin
Parent - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 11-18-2002 05:11
i'm not sure that metal contracts more than it expands. but i do know that after you weld something, the bead contracts w/ the length of the weld as well as w/ the width of the weld. and the weld bead fuses w/ the base metal starting w/ the toes and progressing toward the interior of the bead. since the toes fuse first and the rest of the bead is still shrinking, that pulls on the base metal and causes warpage.

yes, i agree that auto frames are probably mild steel...but i'd check into it before doing anything to one. they probably aren't heat treated, but some of the heavier frames might be an alloy of some kind...i don't know.
Parent - - By CHGuilford (****) Date 11-18-2002 14:58