Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / weave as a cover pass?
- - By klootwyk Date 07-29-2011 18:27
Hello everyone:grin: I am a special inspector in Hawaii. I have a question regarding a welders full penn weld. He did a weave pattern on top, it was very nice, and my boss had him remove it and weld stringers. The code says a fill pass can not be more than 3/16'' of a inch. Does this apply to the reinforcement at the top of the CJP as well? Thanks
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 07-29-2011 18:35
Without seeing the WPS that was used for that weld...it may be difficult to answer the first part of your question about the weave. AWS D1.1:2010 Table 6.1 for Visual Inspection leads you over to Figure 5.4 concerning the weld profiles. Figure 5.4 shows several configurations of weld joints (take note of Dimension "C") and leads you over to Table 5.9 and 5.10 for the maximum reinforcement that is allowed. Typically it is limited to 1/8" for materials less than 1" thick.
Parent - By qcrobert (***) Date 07-29-2011 18:56
D1.1 Code does not address the use of stringers over weave pass technique nor the bead width.

However your WPS may stipulate such.
Parent - By waccobird (****) Date 07-29-2011 19:03
klootwyk

Welcome to the American Welding Society Online Forum

As John mentioned without more information we can only speculate the answers.

But if the boss had him remove it I bet it wasn't an allowable weld.

Boss's don't generally make work where not needed.

But welcome to the forum.
Good Luck
Marshall
Parent - - By joe pirie (***) Date 07-29-2011 20:00
Are you sure the 3/16 " isnt the thickness of deposited metal in one pass not the width of the weld.
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 07-29-2011 20:27
What welding code are you welding to?