Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Safety / Flame Resistance Clothes
- - By Paladin (***) Date 08-02-2011 00:49
I am Qualified with two gas companies. For both gas companies I am an independent contractor doing work for a sub contractor that does  work  the gas company.

One company I have done very few jobs for. Last time I was there, the gas company inspector insisted that I wear flame resistance coveralls. I think he was nervous because the RAILROAD COMMISSION was out checking on jobs that day. I have observed on more that one occasion that the Railroad Commission really puts the fear of God in gas company employees.

It is the gas company policy for THEIR employees to wear the FR coveralls when welding on in-service lines. I am not a gas company employee. I wore the coveralls that day without too much grief. I don't know if you have noticed but it has been real hot lately. That FR stuff seems like a better idea in winter.

I am about to have to do some kind of a 12 inch tie in- reroute job. I am sure it will be one of those full encirclement fittings and that means a lot of welding with with 5/32 and 3/16. I don't know if you have noticed but it has been extra hot here lately.

So my question is, can the gas company inspector shut the job down if I don't wear the suit? What would Willie do? I don't like to cause trouble but I don't want to keel over from heat stroke either.

Thanks,
Floyd
Parent - - By tighand430 (***) Date 08-02-2011 02:04