Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / API-1104 Weld Tests. Need some info please.
- - By Cwiwelder (*) Date 08-16-2011 22:43
Greetings,
I'm in the process of being scheduled for a welding test with a major natural gas company.   Pipeline maintenance only, not new construction.
The woman on the phone was not sure about the weld tests but I'd like to get a head start.  I am a new CWI and experienced welder but have never taken the full battery of API-1104 tests.  The open root 6G test is not a problem.  The only one I am concerned about is the branch weld.  I've had no experience laying one of these out by hand.  Not sure if they allow you to use a template or not.  Can anyone suggest a web site or publication that shows how to perform this layout?  A source for the templates?  Maybe a youtube video?  The actual welding portion is the least of my concerns.  It's the layout I'm worried about.  I'm really pumped for this job and would appreciated any help at all.  Thank you.
Parent - - By dbigkahunna (****) Date 08-17-2011 02:58
Up on the top line is "Search" Put in "Branch Layout" and start reading.
If the company will allow a template, remember the template must be made for the schedule of pipe you are using. If the stencil is made for standard wall 12 inch and you have .430 or .250 then the stencil will be off. The throat will be OK but the points will be too short or long.
Get a Graves Blue Book. It has all the lengths for different schedules of pipe. Laying out a branch is not hard. Use adding machine tape the length of the pipe and fold it to make a roughly 2 inch square. The fold marks will be where you make your marks for the lengths of the branch.
Glad the welding does not worry you, but getting the branch to fit may concern you a scoach. Also the run pipe will have to be cut and the opening will have to match the branch to get a good bead.